Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis

While on his way to middle school, Jack McKinley blacks out. After a spell at the hospital, Jack wakes up at the Karai Institute and meets three other tweens—Aly, Cass, and Marco. The Karai Institute’s purpose is to study the tween’s genetic abnormality caused by their Atlantis ancestry. This abnormality gives them superpowers, but it will cost the tweens their lives. To save themselves, the four tweens must restore seven powerful orbs—called Loculi—back to the remains of Atlantis. The Loculi were hidden at each of the seven wonders of the ancient world, but only one of the seven wonders still exist today. Only by tapping into their newfound powers will the tweens have any chance of finding the Loculi and saving their lives.

Lerangis creates an unpredictable thrill ride with the Seven Wonders series. Readers will see the world through Jack’s humorously insightful narrative as he discovers his new life as a Select. Jack’s “super ability” is to see the big picture when facing outlandish odds—like a hundred-foot bronze man and a ferocious griffin. Then he finds creative solutions to conquer those odds by successfully utilizing the skills of his friends. Yet, Jack cannot see easy solutions to his own problems—like the separation from his father or his impending death. This is an ideal series for fans of Percy Jackson, Fablehaven, or Harry Potter. The next book in the series is Lost in Babylon.

No comments :

Post a Comment