Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Theodosia and the Staff of Osiris by R. L. LaFevers

While cataloging artifacts in the basement of her parents' museum, Theodosia finds a staff and orb that have traces of ancient magic still clinging to them. When she puts the two together, mummies from all over London gather at her museum. This is because the staff and orb together have the ability to raise the dead. The Serpents of Chaos find out about the staff and steal it from her. Working together with the Brotherhood of the Chosen Keepers and the Arcane Order of the Black Sun, Theodosia must steal back the staff before chaos takes over London.

LaFevers does a wonderful job at maintaining Theodosia's colorful and refreshing character, while Tanaka's illustrations support the break-neck pace of the story. Readers will definitely be staying up through the night as they follow Theodosia through the dark, dank London alleyways with mummies trailing behind her. But aside from the addictive adventure, spunky heroine, and spooky premise, this book is a great way to show children the importance of doing research in finding answers to any problem. Fans of Harry Potter, Red Pyramid, or Fablehaven will thoroughly enjoy the Theodosia Throckmorten series.

No comments :

Post a Comment